It takes a village…

Or in this case, a group of really amazing coworkers.

I was beyond stressed at the end of the school year last May. I was trying to finish the yearbook, grade exam projects, prepare for the trip to Europe and trying to pack up my room all by June 1. On top of all of that, I was working way too many hours at my other job. There was no way I was going to be able to accomplish it all and I was on the verge of a mega-meltdown. Luckily for me, I have some awesome coworkers who stepped in and volunteered to take care of the room-packing for me. Seriously, I have no words for what a huge relief this was.

And pack they did! When I got back into my classroom in July, every shelf, table and bulletin board had been boxed up. My room hadn’t experienced that level of cleaning in…well, not since I moved in, that’s for sure.

Which brings me to the hours I’ve put in for the day. I actually did most of the unpacking in July (but since that was while I was on “vacation”, those hours don’t count). While on vacay, I unpacked all the boxes and began making piles: store, keep handy, toss or recycle. Many trash bags and one huge recycling bin later, I now just have to find a new home for all the things I need to keep. And that’s what I was working on today.

In addition to organizing the room, today was yearbook distribution for the recent grads. The alumnae office hosts a bbq each year before everyone leaves for college. This year, it was another example of some of those amazing coworkers all pitching in and volunteering. Technically, only the administrative offices are back to work until next week. And yet, the bbq today was filled with my coworkers – grilling, cleaning and wishing luck to our newest alumnae. Which is why I’m logging these hours onto my blog/timeclock.

Today’s total, between room organizing and yearbook distributing, is 5 hours.

PS – for documentation purposes (and for the morbidly curious), here are some pics of the room before I started on it today. I’ll post more once everything has found its new home.

View from the door. Say "hello" to the keep piles!

View from the door. Say “hello” to the keep piles!

More cluttered desks and bare walls.

More cluttered desks and bare walls.

Yearbook corner, second teacher desk and, get this, the totally cleared out and organized cabinet! Tada!

Yearbook corner, second teacher desk and, get this, the totally cleared out and organized cabinet! Tada!

Bare bulletin boards = BORING!

Bare bulletin boards = BORING!

Teacher desk #1 - hopefully, next time you see this it will be topped by a shiny new monitor!

Teacher desk #1 – hopefully, next time you see this it will be topped by a shiny new monitor!

Leave a Reply

