Roadblocks in Lesson Planning

Over the weekend, I’ve been able to work in a total of about 9 hours on schoolwork – in between being SuperSalesGal, doing some yardwork, catching up with the family and escaping through a bit of retail therapy.  Unfortunately those 9 hours were grasped here and there and, as a result, left me feeling a bit disjointed.

This isn’t really anything new. It’s kind of the nature of the beast when you have a job that just won’t stay at the “office,” so to speak. You work when you can and try to keep a hold of your relationships (and sanity) the best you can. This is why I’m such a big fan of to-do lists.

At the end of each week, I place a post-it inside my lesson plan book.  Before I leave school on Friday, I fill the post-it with jobs and tasks I need to accomplish for the coming week.  When I find a minute to work over the weekend, I choose one item from the list to tackle. An hour enjoying my coffee when I first wake up = updating participation grades online. 30 minutes before I need to leave for the retail gig = writing a journal prompt for the sophomores.  The method works for me most days, but I struggled with it this weekend.

I tend to like to organize and plan ahead.  My lesson plan book has a special home behind my desk.  It sits on my podium during every class and I’m constantly updating it and making adjustments.  And yet…

It’s so hard for me to plan at the start of the year.  I think it has to do with not really knowing my classes well enough yet.  I’m so hesitant to work more than a week or so ahead of the class.  I feel like I’m constantly over- or underestimating the amount of time it will take to complete assignments in class.  

I know that this is a temporary problem. I realize that becoming acquainted with classes is a process that unfolds naturally and I’m confident that, before long, I’ll be buzzing along with my lesson-planning at a pace that feels comfortable to me.

For now though, I just try to take deep breaths and remind myself that a blank box does not mean that I’m unprepared – just that it’s a class filled with possibilities. 🙂

Leave a Reply

