Back to School Night

Tonight we had Back to School Night. At my school, this is a night when parents run through their daughters’ schedules and spend 15 minutes with each of their teachers.  As a teacher of both under- and upperclassmen, I get both ends of the attendance spectrum.  Freshman and sophomore classes = standing room only. Senior class…ummm…not so much.

Basically I try to show the parents my website and talk about the methods of evaluation.  I try to keep it light and lively. I teach all the afternoon sessions, so the majority of my parents were coming to me at the end of the night. They were tired. I was tired. I felt like I was repeating myself over and over again.  It makes for a long day.  Luckily for me, our school had early dismissal today so the students were out at 1:35.  I stuck around for the afternoon and worked on my websites and lesson plan book for next week, but I took a break before the parent night to get dinner with some friends. 

In total, I logged 10 hours today.

Image

Posted by one of my favorite Facebook pages, “teachers with a sense of humor” (click on the picture to check out their page). I made this my new screensaver. I’m pretty sure this is like a mirror image of me when this happens in my class.

Leave a Reply

