When Inspiration Strikes

I’ve been struggling with selecting the next topic of study in my senior theology course.  The course is Faith and Media and the primary objective is to consume secular media through the lens of faith.  I switch up the various topics we study from quarter to quarter because I teach the course so often throughout the year and I like to try to keep things fresh.

The last unit we studied was Religious Hypocrisy and it was very successful.  The students were engaged and the subject matter was relevant.  We watched a movie which lead to lively discussions and thoughtful reflections.  We then examined the hypocrisy prevalent in the music industry and the students further explored the subject through a creative project.

Of course, I wanted to keep the momentum going with the next topic.  Unfortunately I was short on ideas.

This past weekend, I picked up a new book at the local bookstore.  It’s part of the new trend of dystopian stories flooding pop culture today.  Books, movies, tv shows…it’s everywhere.

And that was the inspiration I needed.  These stories carry powerful messages about doubt and faith.  It’s relevant and fun.  And just what I was looking for.

Friday was just an eight hour day.  I spent about 2.5 hours this weekend working on lessons and ideas for yearbook.  Nine hours today.  Midquarter is Friday – where is the time going?

Leave a Reply

